AMERICAN ACADEMY OF NURSING

2020 VIRTUAL
POLICY CONFERENCE

IN CRISIS AND CALM: LEADING WITH PURPOSE

OCTOBER 29-31 + EXTENDED ON-DEMAND ACCESS

White_Wave_v2.png
AAN_Icon.png

A MESSAGE FROM

SUZANNE
MIYAMOTO

CEO

EILEEN M.
SULLIVAN-MARX

PRESIDENT

CONNECT, COLLABORATE, AND CELEBRATE 

Register now and join your colleagues at the American Academy of Nursing’s 2020 Virtual Policy Conference. 

This year’s conference will be held virtually on October 29 - 31. Now more than ever, we need the opportunity to reflect and connect together.

 

This year’s conference theme is fittingly, In Crisis and Calm: Leading with Purpose. The dynamic speakers will encourage deep discussion and thought surrounding the unique role the nursing profession plays in achieving equitable care especially as we grapple with an increasingly grave global health crisis.

 

The Academy is excited to host this engaging virtual conference that will allow us to learn and grow as a community. We look forward to celebrating our new 2020 Fellows, Living Legends, Honorary Fellows, and Award Winners.

 
 
 

REGISTRATION RATES

REGISTRATION BENEFITS

Continuing Professional Development

The American Academy of Nursing is accredited as a provider of Continuing Professional Development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation. The fee for Contact Hours is included in the registration rate. The total number of awarded contact hours will be announced prior to the event. Contact hours are awarded by the American Academy of Nursing following the completion of the virtual event.

Cancellation Policy

Policy Conference cancellation requests must be submitted by email to Conferences@AANnet.org and received by October 16, 2020. There is a $50.00 processing fee for each refund. The Academy will waive processing fees for cancellations due to COVID-19.

AGENDA

(subject to change)

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 29

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 30

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 31

11:00AM - 6:15PM ET / 8:00AM - 3:15PM PT

11:00AM - 12:15PM ET / 8:00AM - 9:15AM PT

Conference Welcome 

and

Opening Keynote:
Leading with Purpose

Kevin W. Sowers, MSN, RN, FAAN
President, Johns Hopkins Health System


Moderator: Mary M. Gullatte, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, AOCN, LSSYB, FAAN
Corporate Director of Nursing Evidence Based Practice & Research, Emory Healthcare

12:15PM - 12:40PM ET / 8:15AM - 8:40AM PT
Covid-19 Courage Awards

12:40PM - 1:40PM ET / 9:40AM - 10:40AM PT

Interactive Panel:
Navigating a Pandemic

Kimberly Glassman, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAONL, FAAN
Clinical Professor and the Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs , NYU Rory Meyers College of Nursing

Rear Admiral Aisha K. Mix, DNP, MPH, RN, NHDP-BC

Chief Nurse Officer, U.S. Public Health Service

 

Sharon Vanairsdale, DNP, APRN, ACNS-BC, NP-C, CEN, FAEN, FAAN
Program Director for Serious Communicable Diseases, Emory University Hospital

 

Moderator: Kathleen Chavanu Gorman, MSN, RN, FAAN
Executive Vice President for Patient Care Services and Chief Operating Officer, Children’s National Health System

1:40PM - 1:45PM ET / 10:40AM - 10:45AM PT

Day 1 Closing

Poster Sessions & Exhibit Hall Break
 

3:00PM - 4:05PM ET / 12:00PM - 1:05PM PT

Institute for Nursing Leadership Session

Opening Remarks & Partner Welcome

Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN 

President, American Academy of Nursing

 

Susan Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN 

Senior Adviser for Nursing, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and Senior Scholar in Residence and Advisor to the President on Nursing, National Academy of Medicine
 

An Institute for Nursing Leadership Critical Conversation on Health Equity and Racism

Barbara Hatcher, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN 

Principal/CEO, Hatcher-DuBois-Odrick Public Health Consulting Group

Sheldon D. Fields, PhD, RN, CRNP, FNP-BC, AACRN, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN 

Associate Dean for Equity and Inclusion and Research Professor, The Pennsylvania State University College of Nursing

Facilitator: Monica R. McLemore, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN 

Associate Professor, University of California San Francisco Family Health Care Nursing Department, Affiliated Scientist with Advancing New Standards in Reproductive Health, and Member of the Bixby Center for Global Reproductive Health

 

Transitional Remarks

Bobbie Berkowitz, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN 

Chair, Institute for Nursing Leadership Planning Committee

4:05PM - 5:10PM ET / 1:05PM - 2:10PM PT

In-Depth Dialogues

Antiracism in Nursing Education and the Workforce:

Leading Change

Garrett K. Chan, PhD, RN, APRN, FAEN, FPCN, FCNS, FNAP, FAAN

Chief Executive Officer and President of HealthImpact

 

Wallena Gould, EdD, CRNA, FAAN

Founder & CEO, Diversity in Nurse Anesthesia Mentorship Program 

 

Facilitator: Angela Amar, PhD, RN, FAAN 

Professor and Dean, UNLV School of Nursing

Unseen Diversity: How to Elevate Inclusivity and Affect Change

Vincent Guilamo-Ramos, PhD, MPH, LCSW, PMHNP-BC, ANP-BC, AAHIVS
Professor of Nursing, Social Work, and Global Public Health
Associate Vice Provost for Mentoring and Outreach Programs
New York University
Director, NYU Center for Latino and Adolescent Family Health (CLAFH)

Margaret Moss, PhD, JD, RN, FAAN 

Director, First Nations House of Learning/Associate Professor, The University of British Columbia, School of Nursing

Facilitator: Hussein M. Tahan, PhD, RN, FAAN

Vice President, Nursing Professional Development and Workforce Planning, MedStar Health and Co-Chair, INL Planning Committee 

5:10PM - 5:15PM ET / 2:10PM - 2:15PM PT

Closing Remarks

Kenya Beard, EdD, AGACNP-BC, NP-C, CNE, ANEF, FAAN 

Chair, Diversity & Inclusivity Committee

Julie Fairman, PhD, RN, FAAN

Chair, Institute for Nursing Leadership National Advisory Council

5:15PM - 6:15PM ET / 2:15PM - 3:15PM PT

Reflection Room  

Facilitated by Diversity & Inclusivity Committee and the INL National Advisory Council Members

RETURN TO AGENDA

 
 

General Session Programming

Breakout Content

Networking Opportunities

Sponsor Spotlights

Virtual Exhibit Hall

Poster Sessions

Extended On-Demand Content

Contact Hours

Member

Non-Member

Student

THE VIRTUAL ENVIRONMENT WILL FEATURE
 SIGNATURE CONFERENCE EVENTS, INCLUDING:

Captivating Keynotes

Interactive Panel Sessions

Breakout
Sessions

Networking
Opportunities

Exhibit
Hall

Poster
Sessions

Celebrations

Including:
Living Legends Ceremony and New Fellow Induction Ceremony

CONNECT, COLLABORATE, AND CELEBRATE 

Register now and
join your colleagues at the
American Academy of Nursing’s
2020 Virtual Policy Conference. 

American Academy of Nursing

1000 Vermont Ave NW • Suite 910
Washington, DC 20005-4903
(202) 777-1170 

conferences@aannet.org

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2020 American Academy of Nursing Community.  All rights reserved.

QUESTIONS? CONTACT US.